Invited speakers:Lokesh Tribedi, Professor,Department of Nuclear and Atomic Physics,TIFR, Mumbai. | Prof. M. Selvaraj,Professor of Materials Chemistry and Catalysis, School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Jiangsu University, PR China


‘Spectrum – 2018’ - International Students’ Conference on ‘Emerging Trends in Science and Technology’- will be organized by Institute of Engineering & Management (IEM), on 17th February, 2018, at Management House, IEM, Kolkata, India. The event will comprise of keynote lectures on various topics by eminent personalities of different domains, technical paper presentation competition, technical poster presentation competition, model making competition and tutorial sessions on emerging technologies. Unlike many other conferences this conference is an initiative taken by IEM exclusively for the students. The aim of this venture is to motivate young minds especially undergraduate and postgraduate students to pursue research in their higher studies. The conference will provide a global platform for undergraduate, postgraduate and Ph.D. students, young scientists and budding engineers to showcase and deliberate their innovative ideas on new concepts in the field of science and technology. The best- paper, paper presentation – oral and poster, model will be awarded in the conference. Contributory papers presented in the technical sessions will be published in reputed conference proceedings.

Kolkata the City of Joy

Conference Topics

  • 1.Nano materials
  • 2. Semiconductor devices
  • 3. Applied Optics
  • 4. Cosmology and Astrophysics
  • 6. Optimization techniques
  • 7. Information and coding theory
  • 8. Fluid mechanics
  • 9. Robotics and artificial intelligence
  • 10. Bio mathematics
  • 11. Opto-Electronics
  • 12. Design of algorithm
  • 13. Signal and Image processing
  • 14.Bioelectronics and its application
  • 15 Microwave and Antenna
  • 16. Power system optimization
  • 17. Electromagnetic field and Systems
  • 18. Electrical Machine Modeling and Drive system
  • 19. Financial Mathematics
  • 20.Environmental Science
  • 21. Other relevant topics

Key Dates

  • Camera Ready paper submission - 6th February, 2018
  • Deadline of Full paper submission-15th January ,2018
  • Deadline of model abstract submission – 15th January, 2018
  • Acceptance notification for papers and models – 1st February, 2018

Statistics of past Spectrum


Successful Paper Submission


Model Submission


Students Participated


Expert team


Spectrum 2018 Highlights

Invited talks by eminent scientists and professors.

Best paper writing award

Best poster award

Best paper presentation award

Best Model award

Selected papers to be published in reputed conference proceedings



  • Registration fee for Accepted papers

  • Indian Students 1000(INR) per paper

    Foreign students $50(USD) per paper

  • Registration fee for accepted models

  • Indian Students 500(INR) per model

    Foreign students $30(USD) per model

  • Registration fee per participant of Quiz

  • Indian Students 100(INR)

    Foreign students $30(USD)

    Submission Guidelines

    Paper Submission Guidelines

    Original papers are invited as per the following guidelines: PDF file containing the full paper, not exceeding 6 pages (including figures and tables) in IEEE format should be submitted at the official mail id on or before the deadline. Papers received after the deadline will not be accepted.

    To Download the IEEE format click here

    Model Submission Guidelines

    Abstract of the model explaining in brief (within 700 words) the working principle of the model and its utility should be submitted at the official mail id on or before the deadline. Abstracts received after the deadline will not be accepted.


    Advisory Committee

    Jochen M. Schneider RWTH Aachen University, Germany
    Ion Garate Université de Sherbrooke, Canada
    Jerzy A. Szpunar University of Saskatchewan,Canada
    Daisuke Miyoshi Konan University, Japan
    Sourav Goyel Queen's Unversity, UK
    Debotosh Guha University of Calcutta
    Priyabrata Sarkar University of Calcutta
    Subenoy Chakraborty Jadavpur University, Kolkata
    Arnab Halder Presidency University, Kolkata
    Uday Chand Ghosh Ramkrishna Mission Vivekananda University, Belur Math, Howrah
    Sobhan Sen Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
    Sayan Bhattacharya Nalanda University
    Narayan Banerjee IISER, Kolkata
    G.L.Datta Former Professor in Mech Engg and Dean of IIT Kharagpur;Vice Chancellor (2009-2012) and Chancellor (2012-14) of K L University, AP
    Pratik Sen IIT Kanpur
    S.S.Gautam NERIST, Nirjuli
    Pradip Lingfa NERIST, Nirjuli

    Technical Committee

    Chair : G.S.Taki IEM, Kolkata
    Malay Gangopadhyay IEM, Kolkata
    Himadri Nath Saha IEM, Kolkata
    Mohuya Chakraborty IEM, Kolkata
    Debika Bhattacharya IEM, Kolkata
    Tapobrata Bhattacharya IEM, Kolkata
    Kalyan Chakraborty Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
    Anjan Barman S.N.Bose National Centre for Sciences, Kolkata
    Balaji Mandal Bhaba Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai
    Jhimli Bhattacharyay NIT, Dimapur
    Ujjal Debnath IIEST, Shibpur
    Shrikrishna N. Joshi IIT, Guwahati
    Sudipta Das Visva Bharati University, Shantiniketan
    Anjananda Sen Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi
    Amitava Sil St.Paul’s Cathedral College, Kolkata
    Partha Dutta Maharaja Manindra Chandra College, Kolkata
    Saswati Barman IEM, Kolkata
    Kakoli Datta IEM, Kolkata
    Pratap Mukherjee IEM, Kolkata
    Tina De IEM, Kolkata

    Organizing Committee

    Satyajit Chakrabarti Chief Patron President, IEM, Kolkata
    Satyajit Chakrabarti Patron Director, IEM, Kolkata
    A.K Nayak Patron Principal, IEM, Kolkata
    Arun Kumar Bar Chair IEM, Kolkata
    Koyel Ganguly Convener IEM, Kolkata
    Dwaipayan De Chief Coordinator IEM, Kolkata


    Prabir Kumar Das Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Sanghamitra Poddar Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Mainak Saha Dept. of Electrical and Electronics Engineering IEM, Kolkata
    Rahul Baidya Dept. of Mechanical Engineering IEM, Kolkata
    Arnab Basu Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Uma Devi Sharma Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Soumyadipta Pal Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Sushmita Mukherjee Dept. of Biotechnology UEM, Kolkata


    Gunjan Kumar Dept. of Mechanical Engineering IEM, Kolkata
    Biswadip Basu Mallik Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Ayan Kumar Panja Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Amartya Mukherjee Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Santanu Das Dept. of Basic Science & Humanities IEM, Kolkata
    Pooja Joshi Dept. of Electrical & Electronics Engineering IEM, Kolkata
    Ranjita Chowdhury Dept. of Electrical Engineering IEM, Kolkata
    Debasish Jana Dept. of Electrical Engineering IEM, Kolkata


    Official Mail ID:

    Chair: Arun Kumar Bar (

    Convener: Koyel Ganguly (

    Chief Coordinator: Dwaipayan De ( )

    Coordinators: Arnab Basu (,
    Uma D Sharma

    Soumyadipta Pal

    Institute of Engineering & Management

    Management House, D-1, Sector-V, Saltlake Electronics Complex Kolkata – 700 091, West Bengal, India. Phone-91- 33-64582936

              You can also send us a Mail by filling the form below for any query:

    Your message has been sent. Thank you!